Our Independent Scientific Panel

Our Independent Scientific Panel members provide expert advice to the Board of Trustees and our senior management, in relation to the granting of Leuka charitable funds for the purposes of medical and scientific research.  

Professor nick Cross

Prof. Nick Cross, Faculty of Medicine, University of Southampton (Chair)

Nick Cross MA PhD FRCPath studied at the University of Cambridge, initially reading Natural Sciences and subsequently undertaking a PhD in the Department of Genetics. He started his postdoctoral career at the Hammersmith Hospital, London in 1987, where he developed an interest in chronic myeloid leukaemia under the mentorship of Professor John Goldman.

In 2001 he relocated to Salisbury to take up Directorship of the Wessex Regional Genetics Laboratory and Chair of Human Genetics at the University of Southampton. His research, which has resulted in more than 290 peer reviewed publications, focuses on the molecular pathogenesis of myeloid malignancies as well as the development, validation and standardisation of genetic tests.

In 2018, Professor Cross was awarded the Rowley Prize by the International Chronic Myeloid Leukemia Foundation. The award recognises Professor Cross’s scientific achievements to better understand the molecular pathogenesis of CML and the development, validation and standardisation of genetic tests.

Prof. Francesco Dazzi, King’s College London (Vice Chair)

Prof. Dominique Bonnet, Francis Crick Institute, London

Prof. Jackie Boultwood, University of Oxford

Prof. Richard Clark, University of Liverpool

Dr. Steve Devine MD, CIBMTR, Minneapolis, USA

Prof. Tariq Enver, Cancer Institute Director, University College London

Prof. Maria Figueroa, University of Miami Miller School of Medicine, Miami, USA

Prof. John Gribben, Queen Mary University of London

Prof. Olaf Heidenreich, Newcastle University

Prof. Robert Hills, Cardiff University

Prof. Anastasios Karadimitris, Imperial College London

Prof. Nicolaus Kröger, University Medical Centre, Hamburg, Germany

Prof. David Marin, MD Anderson Cancer Centre, Houston, USA

Prof. Mary Francis McMullin, Queen's University Belfast

Prof. Ken Mills, Queen’s University Belfast

Prof. Emma Morris, University College Hospital, London

Prof. Uwe Platzbecker, Technical University Dresden, Germany

Prof. Katy Rezvani, MD Anderson Cancer Centre, Houston, USA

Prof. Simon Rule, University of Plymouth

Dr. Bipin Savani MD, Vanderbilt University Medical Center, USA

Dr. Bronwen Shaw MD, Medical College of Wisconsin, USA